For a migrating user, we only migrate files that the user owns.  When we migrate any file we do the following actions:

1) Copy: create a copy of the source file on the destination account. At this step the new file is not shared and is located in the root folder(MyDrive).

2) Share: we share new file with the mapped collaborators

3) Move: we move the file to its respective parent folders path.


And, here is how a file ACL sharing settings of a file is migrated. Consider the source domain as domainmigration.info and the destination domain as securemigration.info.

Consider, on the source domain there is a file named sampletest.doc owned by a migrating user adam@domainmigration.info and shared to 5 users. 


Source File: sampletest.doc

Shared To:

  1. adam@domainmigration.info - Owner

  2. kevin@domainmigration.info - Edit

  3. jake@domainmigration.info - View

  4. helen@domainmigration.info - View

  5. matt@netprem.com - Edit

  6. kirk@syscloud.com - Comment


Out of the 6 users 4 are from the source domain domainmigration.info & 2 are from external domains syscloud.com & netprem.com. 

Consider that, out of the 4 domainmigration.info users, only 2 users are in the migration list 

( adam@domainmigration.info=>adamjohnson@securemigration.info) &, (helen@domainmigration.info=>helengeorge@securemigration.info ).

kevin@domainmigration.info is not migrating and neither is the user jake@domainmigration.info.


Now, when we migrate the file to the destination account adamjohnson@securemigration.info, the sharing permissions will be as follows.


Destination File : sampletest.doc

Shared To:

  1. adamjohnson@securemigration.info - Owner

  2. kevin@securemigration.info - Edit

  3. jake@securemigration.info - View

  4. helengeorge@securemigration.info - View

  5. matt@netprem.com - Edit

  6. kirk@syscloud.com - Comment


As you can see above, the users who are migrating have been mapped correctly in the sharing permissions. The non-migrating users have just their domain replaced with the destination domain in their usernames. The external domain users are retained as same.