Encryption:


To encrypt a file/folder, please follow the steps given below.

  1. right-click on the file/folder, and open with 'Syscloud Encryption for Google Drive' app. [refer snap1]
  2. you will be redirected to the Syscloud encryption page, where you will be asked to provide the password for encryption. [refer snap2]
  3. enter a password and click on 'Encrypt' button. You will receive a message saying the encryption was successful. [refer snap3]

 

Once the file is encrypted, the file's extension will be changed to '.syscloud'. If you choose to encrypt a folder, after encryption, all the files inside the folder that are owned by you will be having '.syscloud' extension. All these files will be encrypted using the same password you gave for the folder. This '.syscloud' file is encrypted, and cannot be opened with any other app except the 'Syscloud Encryption for Google Drive' app. Suppose a user tries to open this file, they will see the contents to be illegible and garbled.



Decryption:


To decrypt a file/folder, please follow the steps given below.


  1. right-click on the file/folder, and open with 'Syscloud Encryption for Google Drive' app. [refer snap1]
  2. you will redirected to the Syscloud decryption page
    • if you are the owner of the encrypted file/folder, then you will only have to click on the 'Decrypt' button provided [refer snap4]. Note: if you check the auto-encryption option, the decrypted file will be automatically be encrypted again with the password you had provided, after you close the file. This will happen around 30 minutes after you close the file.
    • if you are not the owner of the encrypted file/folder then you will have to enter the password to decrypt the content [refer snap5].


The file will be decrypted and converted to the normal Drive files they were previously before encryption. In case of a folder being decrypted, the encrypted files inside the folder will be decrypted. If the 'auto-encrypt' option was unchecked while decrypting, the file will permanently remain decrypted.



Note: Users will receive mail notifications for the encryptions/decryptions performed.